Review: Burned (Fever #7) by Karen Marie Moning

Happy Wednesday!  I am ecstatic to bring this book to you today.  It is part of one of my favorite series and written by one of my favorite authors.  I was able to finish this as birthday present to myself and am happy to bring it to you.  Burned by Karen Marie Moning is a continuation of her fever series.  This book has been burning a hole on my bookshelf for months (pun intended).  The action, steaminess and intrigue continue with this newest addition, but like all the books so far they leave us with lots of questions and only a countdown for the next book.  For my full review keep reading after the book blurb.  Happy Hump Day!  Have a great rest of your week.

12444297Book Blurb:

It’s easy to walk away from lies. Power is another thing.

MacKayla Lane would do anything to save the home she loves. A gifted sidhe-seer, she’s already fought and defeated the deadly Sinsar Dubh—an ancient book of terrible evil—yet its hold on her has never been stronger.

When the wall that protected humans from the seductive, insatiable Fae was destroyed on Halloween, long-imprisoned immortals ravaged the planet. Now Dublin is a war zone with factions battling for control. As the city heats up and the ice left by the Hoar Frost King melts, tempers flare, passions run red-hot, and dangerous lines get crossed.

Seelie and Unseelie vie for power against nine ancient immortals who have governed Dublin for millennia; a rival band of sidhe-seers invades the city, determined to claim it for their own; Mac’s former protégé and best friend, Dani “Mega” O’Malley, is now her fierce enemy; and even more urgent, Highland druid Christian MacKeltar has been captured by the Crimson Hag and is being driven deeper into Unseelie madness with each passing day. The only one Mac can depend on is the powerful, dangerous immortal Jericho Barrons, but even their fiery bond is tested by betrayal.

It’s a world where staying alive is a constant struggle, the line between good and evil gets blurred, and every alliance comes at a price. In an epic battle against dark forces, Mac must decide who she can trust, and what her survival is ultimately worth.


Mac is back baby!  That’s right.  Mac is back and has even more challenges than before.  Mac begins by trying to reconcile with Dani.  The problem is Dani thinks Mac is going to kill her.  Which Mac is actually contemplating.  But, before any of that can happen Dani gets lost in faery.  Mac must now balance her personal search for getting the Sinsar Dubh out of her and finding Dani.  Unfortunately, this very quickly becomes more complicated.  Ryodan and the Nine get invaded by a new problem and only Mac can help.  While helping them she, in her own Mac fashion, causes trouble and encourages some things to go a little sideways.  When things finally start coming together and the nine, Mac, Jada (read to know more) and the Kelters come together for one mission. But as all things go in this upside down faery mash-up of a world things don’t go as planned and losses occur and questions are still left hanging on the tip of Mac’s tongue.

I loved this installment of the series.  Hallelujah! Mac is back.  I knew going into this that it was going to be a whirlwind ride.  I was not disappointed.  I loved the twists and turns with this book.  Just when we think we are going to get answers we get little teasers.  My favorite part in the entire book is what happens to make when she is backed into the corner.  I am only going to only vaguely describe it but it’s so Mac I’m surprised it hasn’t happened before.  But the best part is what she does with it.  With this book Mac has sealed herself as a total badass, among other things.  Barrons as always is sex on a stick along with Ryodan, Lor and all the others.  We really discover more of their world and the world of Chester’s.  Honestly, so much happens in this book it will truly be difficult for me to put it all into words except go and read it.  If you haven’t heard of this series then you need to pick it up ASAP.  The first book in the series is Darkfever.  I guarantee you won’t want to put it down until you have finished Burned.  Then, sadly, you will be like me and be waiting anxiously for next January.  I can’t say enough good this about this book or Karen Marie Moning.  Overall, it is another triumph in the Fever world and it is an enthralling and exciting read.


Today I have a fantastic surprise for you all. I had a unique chance to be the guest reviewer on Loveahappyending Lifestyle Magazine.  With this I was able to do a one question interview with an author of my choice.  I have been so lucky to interview author Tara Sivec.  Here books make you laugh out loud and crush on her hunky heroes.  Here is the link to my review spot.  Below you can read my interview and get to know the fantastic Tara Sivec and her newest book, Burned.  Enjoy my surprise to all of my fantastic readers.

Where do you get your inspiration for your books and characters?

My inspiration comes from so many different places that it’s sometimes hard to shut down my brain! So many things can be the basis for a new story idea like music, real life events, etc.  A lot of my ideas come from dreams. I make sure to keep the notepad app on my iPad open and next to my bed at all times!

TS_Burned_Cover_Final_JWEndorsment_800x1200_Revised-200x300Book Blurb:

Seventeen years old when he broke my heart.
Seventeen days later when another picked up the pieces.
Seventeen years together.
Seventeen thousand problems.
Seventeen days of reliving my past and finding a new future.
Seventeen minutes until it all went up in flames.
Seventeen breaths until I took my last.
This is my story…and it’s going to burn.
Book 2 in the Ignite series – Branded is expected to release in September 2014


Tara Sivec is a USA Today best-selling author, wife, mother, chauffeur, maid, short-order cook, baby-sitter, and sarcasm expert. She lives in Ohio with her husband and two children and looks forward to the day when they all three of them become adults and move out.

After working in the brokerage business for fourteen years, Tara decided to pick up a pen and write instead of shoving it in her eye out of boredom. She is the author of the Playing with Fire series and the Chocolate Lovers series. Her novel Seduction and Snacks won first place in the Indie Romance Convention Reader’s Choice Awards 2013 for Best Indie First Book.

In her spare time, Tara loves to dream about all of the baking she’ll do and naps she’ll take when she ever gets spare time.

Tara also writes under the pen name T.E. Sivec.

Tara Sivec
I’d like to thank the wonderful Tara Sivec for stopping by and giving us some insight into her inspiration.  If you haven’t checked out her books I highly recommend any of her books.  Her talent crosses genres and continues to grow with each of her new books. 

%d bloggers like this: