You Know Your Popular When Your Being Spoofed

The old adage is that imitation is the most sincere form of flattery.  I have often noticed this is true when it comes to Movies and Television shows.  Well, I have started to see that videos of parodies of popular books are popping up all over youtube.  This was brought to my attention most recently when a friend forwarded to me the 50 Shades of Blue parody.

50 Shades of Blue is a take on the very popular and widely criticized 50 Shades of Gray.  This is quite a funny imitation of the book.  I was actually laughing out loud with this video.  I was impressed they actually got a notable actress to star in this parody.

When I was doing some research for this blog, which entailed watching funny and not so funny videos of parodies, I also came across The Hunger Pains.  This one of course is a parody of The Hunger Games.  I was quite impressed with this one also.  They really attempted to imitate the actual trailers of The Hunger Games.  Of course they take liberties to make fun of the movie/books, but overall it’s quite accurate while poking fun at the book.

I would definitely say that imitation is a sign of success and popularity.  When a video of your book pops up on youtube and it’s actually quite a good rendition with the twist of humor you have a hit.  I was quite surprised to also find that there are book parodies also, The Game of Groans and The Girl with the Sturgeon Tattoo to name a few.  I am going to end today’s post with just one really funny SNL skit.  It’s not really a parody of a book but of those who read it.  I hope you enjoy…I know I laughed so hard I was crying.  🙂

What book do you think would make a good parody?  And, if you were the author would you be flattered or insulted? 

Leave a Reply

Reading Addiction Blog Tours

RSS The Romance Man

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Nook Blog/Free Fridays/New Books

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Favorite Book Series

Eternal Guardians by Elisabeth Naughton Dark-Hunter by Sherrilyn Kenyon Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward Lords of the Underworld by Gena Showalter Lords of Deliverance by Larissa Ione discovery of witches love at stake
The Fallen Angels by J.R. Ward Fairy Tales by Eloisa James Night Huntress by Jeaniene Frost Fever by Karen Marie Moning Guild Hunter by Nalini Singh Kate Daniels by Ilona Andrews
Mercedes Thompson by Patricia Briggs Midnight Breed by Lara Adrian The Hollows by Kim Harrison Witch by Carolyn MacCullough westfield wolves
