Review: Guilty Pleasures by Laurell K. Hamilton (Anita Blake #1)

I finally broke down and read the first book in the Anita Blake series.  I feel like I am the last person standing who hasn’t read these books.  I had heard a lot of good things about this series, but I am reading so many different series’ right now it is a challenge to fit a brand new one in.  Well, I found the time and read Guilty Pleasures.  I am glad I finally jumped on this bandwagon.

We are introduced to Anita Blake in the midst of a negotiation with a vampire for her services to find a serial killer killing vampires.  We find that she is a Necromancer or “Animator”.  She raises the dead for the company she works for called Animators, Inc.  From here Anita Blake is dragged into finding the culprit of  a horrendous vampire killing spree by the most powerful vampires in St. Louis.  We meet many different creatures while following Anita.  Anita’s world is seedy and dangerous. Her life and that of her friends are being threatened if she does not bend to the will of her tormentors.  As Anita is dragged into this world further and further as she is then attached to one of the strongest vampires in town, Jean-Claude.  Jean-Claude her only ally (reluctantly so for Anita) is soon AWOL and she is left fending off vampires and ghouls with very little help.  You very quickly learn why she is known as the Executioner.

This was a very smoothly written book.  I was impressed with how well written and informative this story was all the while the information didn’t slow the story down.  For a first book in a series it sets up the series without dragging down the story.  I would say that this was not much of a Paranormal Romance if that is what you are looking for.  It is suspenseful and thrilling and you really do want something romantic to happen for Anita, but alas it does not happen.  I do foresee that things will happen further into the series.

I would highly recommend this series.  If you like Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson then you will like Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake.  The structure of the stories are similar and both keep you guessing about what may happen next.  I can’t wait to read the next one in the series, Laughing Corpse.

For additional information regarding Laurell K. Hamilton’s books check out her website at  All of the Anita Blake series can be found at Amazon, Barnes and Noble and any other book retailer.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Reading Addiction Blog Tours

RSS The Romance Man

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Nook Blog/Free Fridays/New Books

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Favorite Book Series

Eternal Guardians by Elisabeth Naughton Dark-Hunter by Sherrilyn Kenyon Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward Lords of the Underworld by Gena Showalter Lords of Deliverance by Larissa Ione discovery of witches love at stake
The Fallen Angels by J.R. Ward Fairy Tales by Eloisa James Night Huntress by Jeaniene Frost Fever by Karen Marie Moning Guild Hunter by Nalini Singh Kate Daniels by Ilona Andrews
Mercedes Thompson by Patricia Briggs Midnight Breed by Lara Adrian The Hollows by Kim Harrison Witch by Carolyn MacCullough westfield wolves
%d bloggers like this: